chess monthly

Latest Information

How to Enter
2010/11 dates
Team Captains
Current Teams
Teams wanted

Division 1
Division 2
Division 3
Junior 4NCL

Live games
English Chess Forum

Previous Winners
Photo Gallery
Press Info
News Archive
New to the 4NCL
Chess Monthly
Useful Links

Management Board
Appeals Committee

Site Index
Email us

The Four Nations Chess League does not accept responsibility for the content of other websites, to which this site links.

This website includes information on participants in the Four Nations Chess League in respect of name, grade, title, nationality and sex (team registration lists), as well as telephone number(s), email address(es) and postal address(es) in certain circumstances (team captains/managers, management board members, arbiters etc). Participants wishing this information not to be included on the website should contact the webmaster to have it removed, but should be aware that in this event they will not be permitted to play in the league.
2002/03 season
Roll of Honour

Player of the Season in each Division - sometimes referred to as the Big Hitters

Division 4 George Dickson (Metropolitan) with 8 out of 10

Division 3 Julian Allinson (Guildford) and David Hulmes (NW Eagles) both with 9 1/2 out of 11

David Hulmes
Photo - Helen Milligan

David Hulmes

Division 2 Colin Crouch (North West Eagles) - 9 points out of 11

Colin Crouch
Photo - Helen Milligan

Colin Crouch

Division 1 John Emms and Chris Ward both with 8 wins and 3 draws - 9 1/2 points out of 11

John Emms and Chris Ward
Photo - Helen Milligan

John Emms and Chris Ward

George Dickson and Julian Allinson were not present so the awards will be presented next weekend

Champions of each Division

Division 4: their first season in the league:- Hilsmark Kingfisher

Hilsmark Kingfisher
Photo - Helen Milligan

Division 4 Champions, Hilsmark Kingfisher. From left to right: Jonathan Wilson, Simon Fowler, Mark Hogarth, Andrew Bullock and Paul Dupre.

Division 3: completing a double promotion for their two teams:- Numerica 3Cs 2

Alan Walton
Photo - Helen Milligan

Alan Walton of Numerica 3Cs collects the Division 3 trophy.

Division 2: founder members and ever-presents in the League; regaining their premier status and again a double club promotion: - North West Eagles

Division 1: So often pipped at the post to finish second, but this time the 4NCL Champions: - Wood Green

Brian Smith
Photo - Helen Milligan

Brian Smith, Wood Green Captain

Manager of the Year Award
This is now an award made by the 4NCL Board. Team Manager is a very onerous task and this is the reason why the Board wishes to maintain this annual award.
Three years ago the winner of this year’s award was not even in the 4NCL. After the first weekend of the season he was persuaded to raise a team to fill the vacancy created by the withdrawal of an Irish team who lasted only one weekend. His team achieved a respectable position in Division 3. Then he led his team to the Division 3 championship. Last season his team led Division 2 for much of the season and gained promotion by finishing third. From new team to the top division in less than three years.
The team is Warwickshire Select and our Manager of the Year is Malcolm Hunt.

Malcolm Hunt
Photo - Helen Milligan

Malcolm Hunt

Division 1

Pride and Prejudice
Barbican 4NCL 1
White Rose 1
Guildford-A&DC 1
Cambridge Univ. 1
The ADs
Barbican 4NCL 2
Oxford 1
Pandora's Box Grantham
S. Wales Dragons
Guildford-A&DC 2
Poisoned Pawns 1
Jutes of Kent

Division 2

Sambuca Sharks
Warwickshire Select 1
e2e4.org.uk 1
Barbican 4NCL Youth
AMCA Dragons
Kings Head
Poisoned Pawns 2
Anglian Avengers
Wessex 1
Celtic Tigers 1
Bristol 1
White Rose 2
Brown Jack
Guildford-A&DC 3
FCA Solutions 1

Division 3

Rhyfelwyr Essyllwg
Sambuca Black Sheep
Cambridge Univ. 2
Wessex 2
Warwickshire Select 2
KJCA Kings
FCA Solutions 2
The Full Ponty
Sussex Smart Ctls.
e2e4.org.uk 2
Nottinghamshire 1
Nottinghamshire 2
Oxford 2
AMCA Rhinos
Braille Chess Assoc.
AMCA Hippos
Glos. Gambits
Bristol 2
KJCA Knights
Guernsey Mates
Bristol 3
e2e4.org.uk 3
Beauty and the Beasts
Celtic Tigers 2
Oxford 3
Guildford-A&DC 4
AMCA Cheetahs