chess monthly

Latest Information

How to Enter
2010/11 dates
Team Captains
Current Teams
Teams wanted

Division 1
Division 2
Division 3
Junior 4NCL

Live games
English Chess Forum

Previous Winners
Photo Gallery
Press Info
News Archive
New to the 4NCL
Chess Monthly
Useful Links

Management Board
Appeals Committee

Site Index
Email us

The Four Nations Chess League does not accept responsibility for the content of other websites, to which this site links.

This website includes information on participants in the Four Nations Chess League in respect of name, grade, title, nationality and sex (team registration lists), as well as telephone number(s), email address(es) and postal address(es) in certain circumstances (team captains/managers, management board members, arbiters etc). Participants wishing this information not to be included on the website should contact the webmaster to have it removed, but should be aware that in this event they will not be permitted to play in the league.
4NCL Awards 2001

Young Player of the Year - Richard Jones (Nidum Knights), who scored 8/10, generally on board 2.

The other nominees were Andrew Bigg (SCS), Simon Buckley (Bristol), Jessie Gilbert (Perceptron Youth) and Teresa Khoo (BCCA).

Female Player of the Year - Teresa Khoo (BCCA), scoring 8/11.

The other nominees were Jovanka Houska (Slough), Helen Milligan (Athenaeum), Susan Lalic (Slough) and Maria Yurenok (Guildford).

Player of the Year (Div 3) - Peter Taylor (Barbican 4NCL), Division 3 big-hitter with 9.5/11.

The other nominees were Mark Adams (Gwent Dragons), Tony Hynes (Warwickshire Select), Helen Milligan (Athenaeum) and Richard Jones (Nidum Knights).

Player of the Year (Div 2) - Nigel Davies (Levy Gee 3Cs), who scored 8.5/11, 2nd in the Division 2 big-hitters list but all scored on board 1.

The other nominees were Chris Beaumont (Bristol), Graham Lee (Wood Green), Philip Rossiter (Wessex) and James Sherwin (Bristol).

Player of the Year (Div 1) - Mark Hebden (Beeson Gregory) a powerful player on any board, 9.5/11 on a middle board.

The other nominees were Stuart Conquest (Guildford-ADC), John Emms (Wood Green), Simon Knott (Barbican 4NCL) and Aaron Summerscale (Slough).

Captain/Manager of the Year - Richard Hayden (Witney & Swindon). W&S just missed out on promotion, then an appeal looked likely to give them promotion but a counter-appeal meant they missed out.

The other nominees were Chris Howell (Beeson Gregory), Malcolm Hunt (Warwickshire Select), Nigel Povah (Guildford-ADC) and Jonathan Rogers (Barbican 4NCL 1).

Game of the Season - Tony Miles for his win against Alexander Baburin.

The other nominations were Morozevich vs. Svidler and J. Rogers vs. Bates.

Team Award (Div 1) - 1st Beeson Gregory 1
Team Award (Div 2) - 1st Wood Green 2
Team Award (Div 3) - 1st Barbican 4NCL 3
Team Award (Div 4) - 1st SCS

Big Hitter (Div 1) - Mark Hebden 9.5/11
Big Hitter (Div 2) - Graham Lee 9/11
Big Hitter (Div 3) - Peter Taylor 9.5/11

A total of 569 players competed during the 2000/01 season, including 36 GMs, 36 IMs and 78 female players.

Division 1

Pride and Prejudice
Barbican 4NCL 1
White Rose 1
Guildford-A&DC 1
Cambridge Univ. 1
The ADs
Barbican 4NCL 2
Oxford 1
Pandora's Box Grantham
S. Wales Dragons
Guildford-A&DC 2
Poisoned Pawns 1
Jutes of Kent

Division 2

Sambuca Sharks
Warwickshire Select 1
e2e4.org.uk 1
Barbican 4NCL Youth
AMCA Dragons
Kings Head
Poisoned Pawns 2
Anglian Avengers
Wessex 1
Celtic Tigers 1
Bristol 1
White Rose 2
Brown Jack
Guildford-A&DC 3
FCA Solutions 1

Division 3

Rhyfelwyr Essyllwg
Sambuca Black Sheep
Cambridge Univ. 2
Wessex 2
Warwickshire Select 2
KJCA Kings
FCA Solutions 2
The Full Ponty
Sussex Smart Ctls.
e2e4.org.uk 2
Nottinghamshire 1
Nottinghamshire 2
Oxford 2
AMCA Rhinos
Braille Chess Assoc.
AMCA Hippos
Glos. Gambits
Bristol 2
KJCA Knights
Guernsey Mates
Bristol 3
e2e4.org.uk 3
Beauty and the Beasts
Celtic Tigers 2
Oxford 3
Guildford-A&DC 4
AMCA Cheetahs